Californian parents should be aware of the most updated law regarding to infant car passengers, unless they will be fined. Considering more parents are less conscious of using a child safety seat and let their kids tumbling unrestrained, local government stipulates a California car seat law. The law regulates the use of child car seat to ensure kid’s safety around the vehicles, especially when it runs on the street.
In fact, seat belt and child car seat laws have been released in every state and it has been widely accepted. California government updated its law on January, 2017 to protect young passengers in case of a car accident.
What Is California Car Seat Law?
It is completely unsafe to let your children free from seat belts while the car is rumbling down the street. Allowing young kids to ride in the front seat without acceptable reason is also illegal according to Californian government. To help you stay compliant, check out what the car seat law is about.
1. Children under 8 years old must occupy the backseat
In California, it is not legal to let your 8-year-old kids or younger to ride in the front seat. They must be seated in the backseat of the vehicle with a kid passenger restrain system. This position allows the kids to be fully protected in any condition.
2. Children under 2 years old must use a rear-facing car seat
All children under 2 years old are required to be in a rear-facing car seats installed in the back seat. Even if they are turning two, they cannot switch to a front-facing seat before complying with several requirements such as 40 pounds weight and 40 inches tall.
3. Offender will be fined
According to California car seat law, offender will be fined according to the violation. There will be a $100 fine for the first offence. The second offense will be fined $250. The California Highway Patrol will inspect your car seat and make sure you comply with the rules. You can also consult for assistance in buying a booster seat or a car seat.
California Cat Seat Law Rear Facing Exception
In a normal condition, children under two ages must be seated in a rear-facing booster seat in the back seat. This is because the back seat is safer than the front seat, so the children will be more protected. But in some conditions, the front seat can be occupied. The conditions include:
1. The vehicle does not have back seat
Some vehicles like a two-seater car or truck do not have back seat. In this condition, young children can be secured in a booster in the front seat.
2. The back seat is full
When the back seat is fully occupied, especially by younger children, the older kid can be seated in the front seat. But a passenger restraint system is still required.
3. Installing a booster seat in the back seat is dangerous
Broken back seat belts can be another excuse to install a car seat in the front. Using a broken seat belt is dangerous and parents are allowed to secure their kid in the front seat.
When kids can stop using a car seat? According to the latest law, children can stop using a car seat when they are 8 years old. They can switch to a safe seat belt, though it can be a little complicated to use. Additionally, seat belt can be dangerous for kids under 4 feet 9 inches tall.
California car seat law includes a regulation that help parents give a proper protection to young kids around the vehicles. Complying with the law is important to keep the children safe during the travel, especially in the event of car accident.